Mama always said “eat your greens!”

Since I arrived in Kankobe Village my diet has changed drastically. My usual salad, greens, veggies, fruits have been replaced by matoke, starch, carbs, rice, matoke, pasta, carbs, starch, potatoes, matoke, matoke, and rice. The fact that I am currently battling the flu plus the fact that I am at net -8364 for my needed daily veggie intake meant that I got quite excited today when my lunch plate was brought to me with matoke, beans, a slice of avocado, and a big pile of greens. Yessss!!!!!

20130415-182921.jpg

Upon further investigation I realized that these weren’t the usual green beans and they definitely weren’t spinach but in dire situations a green is a green and so questions are held quiet. After 1 bite of these crunchy “greens” I noticed a distinct pattern on each green bean. The pattern was 2 black dots on one end… Oh shoot… I think those were eyes. Ok now I had questions but with no one around I was limited to my knowledge of human anatomy and my love of nature. It could be little fish, shimps, or cray fish little guys but the fishy taste didn’t seem to be there. What was there was quite a crutch and a taste of salt.

20130415-183455.jpg

In walks Moses “how do you like the grasshoppers?”

“Oh, that answers my question”

First insect lunch down… Hopefully not many more to go

1 thought on “Mama always said “eat your greens!”

  1. I knew it was gonna happen. Just didn’t know when. Sorry they weren’t green beans. O_o
    Hope you are having at least half as much fun living your adventures as I am having reading them ❤

Leave a comment